Formula One is the last motorsports racing series to crown its individual Driver’s and Constructor’s (Manufacturer’s/Team) Champions.  At the conclusion of the 2018 racing season it was confirmed that Britain’s (UK) Lewis Hamilton and his Mercedes AMG Petronas race car manufacturing team had won the individual Driver’s and Constructor’s (Team) Championships, respectively. 


By the numbers and mathematically speaking both had “locked” up the championships several races earlier in the season.  The October 29th race in Mexico with Lewis’ ninth place finish and Sebastion’s fourth place finish enabled Lewis to mathematically secure the 2017 Driver’s Championship.


For Lewis this was his fourth F1 Championship and Mercedes’ sixth Driver’s Championships (1954, 1955, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017) and fourth Constructor’s Championship (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017) that include three with Lewis Carl Davidson Hamilton.


The Britain had a brilliant season turning up the pressure on Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, himself a four-time F1 Champion, after the summer vacation break.  After the break Lewis won the majority of remaining races and earned 5 additional pole positions to move into the number one spot of all-time F1 pole position sitters (four more than the ever great Michael Schumacher).


The 2017season provided some very close racing and a bit of a seesaw battle between Hamilton and Vettel, Mercedes and Ferrari as well as further down both Championship points lists.


MotometerCentral™ wholeheartedly congratulates Lewis Hamilton and his Mercedes – AMG – Petronas team.

2017 Formula Driver's Champion

Lewis Hamilton



SINCE 1912