Checkered Flag #1.jpg

In Indy 500 Trivia Question #1 we asked "Which Pace Driver has ceremonially lead the most 500 races?" 



The CORRECT ANSWER is:   E. Sam Hanks.











Sam Hanks drove the official Indy 500 race pace cars more times than any other person to-date.  He drove the event leading pace car six - Times from 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962 and 1963. (Next most at five times was initial IMS founder Carl Fisher at five times.)


Sam Hanks was a highly successful Midget Dirt Track racing champion.  He ran in 13 Indy 500 races during the years 1940, 1941, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1950 - 1957.  Ultimately he won the 1957 race.  He also had three other podium finishes, placing second in 1956 and twice third in  1952 and 1953.

And, being as which the Indianapolis International 500-Mile race was still under the auspices of the FIA and considered part of the Formula One Championship series he is credited with a F1 win and a total of 20 - championship points.

He is a member of the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame (Indicted in 1984), the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame (Inducted in 1998), the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (Inducted in 2000) and the West Coast Stock Car Hall Of Fame (Indicted in 2005).  And, of course, his likeness is on the Indy 500 Winner's Championship (Borg- Warner) trophy.

Incorrect Answer Choices:

A.  AJ Foyt drove only once as a stand-in for Donald Trump when he unexpectedly

     cancelled his driving tour of duty.

B. Wilbur Shaw, a three-Time Indy 500 winning driver (1937, 1939 and 1940) who also

     had three other podium finishes (second in 1933, 1935 and 1938) officially drove the

     pace car to lead the race "only twice," in 1948 and 1949.

C.  Ray Harroun, winner of the very first Indy 500-mile race event, never officially drove

      the pace car to lead the event.

Sam Hanks Closeup.jpg
Sam Hanks 1957 Indy 500 Winner.jpeg



SINCE 1912