"Vicenzo Florio and the Origins of the Targa Florio: 1904 - 1906"

By Giuseppe Valenza

Giuseppe Valenza 2016 Argetsinger Symposium Speech on MotometerCentral.com
Giuseppe Valenza Close up at 2016 Argetsinger Symposium on MotometerCentral.com

Truly helping to make this year's 2016 Jean S. Argetsinger Symposium on International Motor Racing History an International affair Italy's Giuseppe Valenza presented his paper on the subject of the Targa Florio auto race series and its origins.

The Targa Florio race series was founded by Vicenzo Florio.  Signor Florio, Jr. was a wealthy wine industry industrialist and pioneer auto racing enthusiast.  After holding discussions with the Gordon Bennett Cup racing establishment.  Based on those discussions, in 1900, he founded the Coppa Brescia races, renamed in 1905 to the Coppa Florio.  The Coppa Florio series ended in 1929.  The Targa Florio race series ran until 1977, though Giuseppe chose to focus on its earliest years.

1906 Winner of the First Targa Florio race Albert Divo in 1907 race on MotometerCentral.com

At left, we see a picture of Albert Divo winner of the first 1906 Targa Florio race (from 1907) in his Bugatti Type 35C.

Giuseppe Valenza is a proud member of the Automoto Storico Italiano, Italy's largest national automobile historic vehicle organization.

As translated from italian the A.S.I. describes itself as "The'A.S.I., Automotoclub Italian historian, constituted in 1966 and recognized moral entity governed by private law by decree of the President of the Republic no. 977 of 24 October 1980, is a federation consisting of 263 Federated club and 38 club members, which brings together approximately 202.000 fans of historic vehicles and institutionally represents the historic motorsport Italian at all national and international institutions and bodies competent."  ~ Source: http://www.asifed.it/  Click on the ASI logo image above to visit their website.

Aldo Zana - "1923 Italian GP"



SINCE 1912