of September 2017

​Top-level auto racing series seasons are drawing to a close and the crowning of season series champions is fully underway.  The drivers are re-focusing their best efforts as their teams have turned up their performance so as to give their drivers the best opportunity to podium and earn truly valuable points.  As one series concludes our other favorite is growing more exciting among totally capable and close combatants.Our "Racing Accolades and Accomplishments" article series keeps you abreast of the latest news.



Josef Newgarden, 26-year-old Team Penske driver on September 17th, 2017 became the Verizon IndyCar 2017 series Champion after finishing second in the final double points paying round at the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway, Sonoma, California.  Newgarden got his open wheel and racecar start driving go-karts.  He now is the youngest IndyCar Champion.  Team Penske swept the podium with Simon Pagenaud winning the race and Will Power finishing third.


CONGRATULATIONS to Josef Newgarden and Team Penske.



Britain’s Lewis Hamilton increased his 2017 Formula Driver’s Championship points lead after starting from the fourth grid position and race ending crashes by closest title rival and Singapore Grand Prix Pole Sitter, Sebastian Vettel (Scudderia Ferrari), Max Verstappen (Red Bull), Kimi Räikkönen (Scudderia Ferrari) and Fernando Alanso (McLaren-Honda) to win the Grand Prix.  The 32 year old Mercedes AMG Petronas team, 2008, 2014 and 2015 Formula One Champion skillfully navigated the tricky night time run street course under mild pressure from Red Bull racing’s Daniel Ricciardo to leap to a 263 –to- 235 points lead over Vettel who scored no points after crashing, breaking his front suspension then damaging his nose cone.


Lewis has won all of the three races run (Belgian, Italian and Singapore) since the so-called “Summer Vacation Break” that began right after the July 30 Hungarian G. P. and resumed August 27th with the Belgian GP.


Six races remain in the season, with the Malaysian (October 1) GP to be run as this update goes to publication.   Lewis won last year’s pole and Sebastian has most active driver wins at the circuit but neither won the 2016 race, however Lewis did win the race in 2014.


Mercedes AMG Petronas has almost locked up the Constructor’s Championship though the Drivers Championship will no doubt extend beyond the October 22nd U. S. Grand Prix in Austin, Texas only to be fully concluded November 26 at the Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi.

Lewis Hamiton 2017 Singapore GP Champion
2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Champion Josef Newgarden



SINCE 1912